Recent Posts



Sols and Macca in NSW T20 Squad

from Cricket NSW

Cricket NSW introduces T20-focused Transition Squad

Cricket NSW will incorporate a T20-focused Transition Squad into its male High Performance Pathway from 2018-19 with a 16-man squad to start training at the SCG on Monday.

The Transition Academy will help players from the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket competition, under age pathway programs and Blues rookie list transition to professional cricket, particularly the BBL.

The Academy is needed because Cricket NSW has up to 36 full contract slots available for its two BBL clubs but only 20 full contract slots available for the NSW Blues. Yet players not on the Blues list must still have the best opportunity to perform at BBL level.

This requires additional, specialist training in a professional environment.

The Transition Academy will complement, not replace, the Sixers and Thunder Academies and NSW Premier Cricket club programs.

The squad will be coached by former NSW Blues off-spinner Anthony Clark and will feature a mix of NSW Blues, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder contracted players and other players of interest.

The group includes current Big Bash League players Chris Green, Jay Lenton and Daniel Sams plus numerous other prospects.

Four players from the 2018 Australian Under 19 World Cup squad are named, including NSW Blues rookies Jack Edwards, paceman Ryan Hadley, wicketkeeper-batter Baxter Holt and Sutherland allrounder Austin Waugh.

Bill O’Reilly Medal winner Jonathan Cook, judged the best player in McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket in 2017-18, has also been selected in the squad along with leading run-scorer Daniel Solway. Cook is a leg-spinning all-rounder from Western Suburbs.

Clark said the players will be provided with as much support as possible through the coaching and Sports Science and Sports Medicine staff at Cricket NSW.