Track Record of Success

Our recent Premierships include:

2015-16 : 1st grade Belvidere Cup / One-day Limited Overs competition

2014-15 : 1st grade One-day Limited Overs competition / AW Green Shield

2013-14 : Poidevin-Gray / AW Green Shield

The Bankstown Cricket Club was formed in 1951 with the founding fathers Harry Toohey, Jack Fitzpatrick, Sid Boddy, Maurie Lilienthal and a host of other local cricket enthusiasts. The founders were fiercely loyal to the Bankstown area and rejected suggestions that the club be called Canterbury-Bankstown, to follow in the footsteps of the local rugby league side. Initially the district cricket club was titled Bankstown-Canterbury, but in the year 2000 the word Canterbury was deleted.


After the Second World War the club was admitted into the Sydney grade cricket competition. Success was instantaneous as the first grade side easily won its inaugural game by defeating a very strong Glebe-South Sydney side. The Bulldogs first premiership came in the 1952-53 season with the successful third grade side, followed in the 1953-54 season with a resounding win to the Under 21 Poidevin-Gray side.


The Bulldogs have provided six Australian Test players and what an imposing six they are. Grahame Thomas was the first, followed by Jeff Thomson, Len Pascoe, Steve Smith, Steve Waugh and Mark Waugh. They have all added immense pride to Bankstown's cricketing history, but it was a crowning moment in February of 1998 when it was announced that Steve Waugh was to be Australia's 40th Test captain. Bob Holland and Ian Davis also played for Bankstown but were with other clubs when they represented Australia, whilst Wayne Holdsworth went on the 1993 Ashes tour to England but did not play a Test match. The Bulldogs have produced 21 N.S.W. players and countless other representative players over the years.

  • facebook
  • twitter

©2019 by Bankstown District Cricket Club